EMS Certification Commission

The EMS Certification Commission (EMSCC) has the responsibility to establish and publish standards of out-of-hospital practice; to regulate the scope of practice of Emergency Medical Services professionals, to discipline and regulate the practice of Emergency Medical Services professionals and to establish standards for educational programs preparing individuals for out of hospital practice. For more information about the EMSCC, visit the Division of Administration Boards & Commissions page.


The EMS Certification Commission approves and updates the Louisiana Scope of Practice.  The current Scope of Practice can be found on the 'Law and Regulation' page. The Scope of Practice Matrix defines the maximum scope (procedures) a duly licensed EMS Practitioner may perform, while operating under an approved medical protocol, or on the order of a physician.

Related Statues & Rules

The EMSCC is governed by the following statues, rules, and regulations


The EMS Task Force, appointed by the Secretary of the Department of Health and Hospitals, is comprised of stakeholders with specific experience and expertise related to the provision of Emergency Medical Services in the different models and settings common in Louisiana. The Task Force is an advisory group gathered to provide feedback, advice, and support to the Department of Health & Hospitals, Office of Public Health, Bureau of EMS and it serves as a forum for the development, consideration, and communication of information from a knowledgeable, independent perspective. The EMS Task Force is also responsible for nominating individuals to serve on the EMS Certification Commission.

Task Force Members 2017 - 2019
  • Robert Daughdril (Sulphur, LA) - Homeland Security Emergency Preparedness
  • Dr. Angela Cornelius (Shreveport, LA) - ACEP/EMS Physician Medical Director
  • Susan Bailey (Baton Rouge, LA) - Municipal EMS Agency
  • Dennis Seamans (Oak Grove, LA) - Ambulance Service District Administrator
  • Danny Hall (Covington, LA) - Provider of Industrial EMS
  • EJ Hanhart (Greensburg, LA) - Licensed Paramedics
  • Dr. Jeffery Elder (New Orleans, LA) - Chairman, EMS Certification Commission
  • Kirk LaCour (Lafayette, LA) - Accredited EMS Education Program
  • Jimmy Stevens (Metairie, LA) - Program Director, Delgado Community College
  • Donna Newchurch (Plattenville, LA) - Community Member
  • Chad Major (Baton Rouge, LA) - President, Professional Fire Fighter Association
  • Paige Hargrove (Plaquemine, LA) - Louisiana Emergency Response Network
  • Lisa French (Baton Rouge, LA) - Louisiana Department of Education
  • Nancy Bourgeois (Ponchatoula, LA) - Louisiana American College of Emergency Physicians
Task Force - State Partners
  • Beth Scalco - Assistant Secretary/Office of Public Health
  • Myra Lowe - Deputy Assistant Secretary/Office of Public Health
  • Director - Bureau of EMS
  • Butch Browning - State Fire Marshal
  • Dr. Jeffery Elder -  Chairman, EMS Certification Commission
  • Chris Hector - Louisiana Emergency Response Network
  • Rose Johnson - EMS for Children